Opening Presentation

Professor Robin Warren

Professor Robin Warren

Professor Robin Warren was born on the 11th of June 1937, in North Adelaide, South Australia. He completed his Medical Degree at the University of Adelaide and training at the Royal Adelaide Hospital, where he became Registrar in Clinical Pathology at the Institute of Medical and Veterinary Science (IMVS). He worked in Haematology at the IMVS and this period stimulated his interest in Pathology..

In 1963, Robin was appointed as Honorary Clinical Assistant in Pathology and Honorary Registrar in Haematology at Royal Adelaide Hospital. Subsequent to this, he lectured in pathology at Adelaide University, then took up the position of Clinical Pathology Registrar at the Royal Melbourne Hospital. In 1967, Robin was elected to the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia and became a senior pathologist at the Royal Perth Hospital. It was here that he spent most of his career.

Whilst at the University of Western Australia, Robin met his colleague Professor Barry Marshall. Together they proved that the bacterium H. pylori is the infectious cause of stomach ulcers. Robin helped develop a convenient diagnostic test (14C-urea breath-test) for detecting H. pylori in ulcer patients. In 2005, Robin Warren and Barry Marshall were awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine. In 2007, Robin was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia.

Plenary Speakers

Professor Robin Spiller

Professor Robin Spiller

Professor Spiller is Professor of Gastroenterology in the Nottingham Digestive Diseases Centre at the University of Nottingham.

Past Editor of Gut (2003-2009) and member of the Board of the Rome Foundation (2000-2015), he twice edited the British Society of Gastroenterology ( BSG )Guidelines for the management of IBS. His main research interest is the pathophysiology of irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), particularly the role of infection, inflammation, diet and alterations in the microbiome as well as a long standing collaboration with the Sir Peter Mansfield Imaging Centre pioneering the use of MRI to image the underlying mechanisms in functional bowel diseases and how the structure of food alters postprandial small and large intestinal volumes and motility.  Author/co-author of more than 388 scientific reviews and original publications. Current studies include an EME funded multicentre trial TReatment of Irritable bowel syndrome with diarrhoea using Titrated ONdansetron (TRITON), RECLAIM  a MRC funded study of colonic motility using MRI and High resolution manometry and a  Newton grant examining the effect of fibre of intestinal physiology in IBS.

Our group has also performed many investigator initiated  research projects with industry including Norgine, Dr Falk, Ironwood and most recently Zespri.

Professor John Furness

John Furness is the Head of the Digestive Physiology and Nutrition Laboratories at the Florey Institute and the University of Melbourne, with appointments in the Departments of Anatomy & Neuroscience and Agriculture & Food.  He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and also a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.

He is best known for his contributions to unravelling the intrinsic circuits of the enteric nervous system, for the chemical coding hypothesis, and for the discovery and identification of sensory neurons intrinsic to the digestive tract.

The current emphases of his work are on (i) the relationships between diet, environment and gut health, and their implications for animal production and for human well-being; (ii) the influence on gut function of neuromodulatory therapies and their applicability to treatment of inflammatory bowel disease and gastroparesis; (iii) the complexities of co-storage of gut endocrine hormones; and (iv) evolution of the digestive system and its enteric and endocrine control.  He has worked closely with the pharmaceutical, medical devices and animal production industries.

For information regarding the Concurrent Session Speakers, please check the Program.

  • Andres Acosta (USA)
  • Douglas Drossman (USA)
  • Giovanni Barbara (Italy)
  • Art Beyder (USA)
  • Guy Boeckxstaens (Belgium)
  • Werend Boesmans (Belgium)
  • Diego Bohorquez (USA)
  • Stuart Brierley (Australia)
  • Kristeen Browning (USA)
  • Michael Camilleri (USA)
  • Lin Chang (USA)
  • Maura Corsetti (UK)
  • Sam Costello (Australia)
  • John Cryan (Ireland)
  • Ami D. Sperber (Israel)
  • Roberto De Giorgio (Italy)
  • Will De Lartigue (USA)
  • Claudia Defilippi (Chile)
  • Ronnie Fass (USA)
  • Shin Fukudo (Japan)
  • John Furness (Australia)
  • Uday Ghoshal (India)
  • Peter Gibson (Australia)
  • Beverley Greenwood-Van Meerveld (USA)
  • Madhu Grover (USA)
  • Brian Gulbransen (USA)
  • Albis Hani (Colombia)
  • Tim Hibberd (Australia)
  • Andrew Holmes (Australia)
  • Gerald Holtmann (Australia)
  • Jan Huizinga (Canada)
  • Maxime Mahe (France)
  • Kara Margolis (USA)
  • Veerle Melotte (Netherlands)
  • Ravinder Mittal (USA)
  • Hiroto Miwa (Japan)
  • Greg O’Grady (New Zealand)
  • Tamas Ordog (USA)
  • Hyojin Park (Korea)
  • Jay Prasricha (USA)
  • Amanda Page (Australia)
  • Satish Rao (USA)
  • Kenton Sanders (USA)
  • Max Schmulson (Mexico)
  • Magnus Simren (Sweden)
  • Andre Smout (Netherlands)
  • Nick Spencer (Australia)
  • Robin Spiller (UK)
  • Jan Tack (Belgium)
  • Michael Talbot (Australia)
  • Nick Talley (Australia)
  • Victoria Tan (Hong Kong)
  • Nikhil Thapar (UK)
  • Alberto Travagli (USA)
  • Lukas van Oudenhove (Belgium)
  • Pieter Vanden Berghe (Belgium)
  • Steve Vanner (Canada)
  • Nathalie Vergnolle (France)
  • Robin Warren (Australia)
  • Justin Wu (Hong Kong)
  • Dylan Batholomeusz (Australia)

Post Graduate Course Speakers:

  • Emma Bidgood
  • Michael Camilleri
  • Dustin Carlson
  • Emma Carrington
  • Charles Cock
  • Douglas Drossman
  • Chip Farmer
  • Mark Fox
  • Prakesh Gyawali
  • Henriette Heinrich
  • Jim Kantidakis
  • Geoff Kohn
  • John Lipham
  • Alison Malcolm
  • Jenny Myers
  • Greg O’Grady
  • John Pandolfino
  • Hamish Philpott
  • Sabine Roman
  • Jan Tack
  • Nick Talley
  • David Watson

Please check the Program for further details.